If you are hit by an uninsured driver, you may be left footing the bill. If you are hit by an uninsured, underinsured, or unknown hit-and-run driver in a Sarasota car crash, then you may be responsible for paying your medical bills and expenses if you do not have an uninsured motorist policy. Unfortunately, Florida law only requires motorists to have insurance for damages exceeding $10,000 or risk being ticketed. The medical bills and related expenses associated with a Sarasota auto accident can exceed that amount very quickly.

While Florida law imposes the $10,000 minimum coverage requirement, it does not require that drivers carry bodily injury coverage. Bodily injury is the type of coverage that comes into play when you are hit by another driver. Your own driver's insurance policy may provide bodily injury coverage, but that coverage is to pay the expenses of other individuals who are hurt when you are the cause of the accident.

Fortunately, even if the driver who is at fault does not have this type of coverage, you are still protected - provided that you have an uninsured motorist policy. This policy may help to pay your expenses related to:
  • Medical bills
  • Damage to property
  • Pain and suffering
  • Lost wages
  • Lost earning capacity

If you were injured in an accident with an uninsured Florida motorist, contact a Sarasota car accident attorney to help you navigate the complexities of this type of claim. For a free consultation, complete our online submission form or call our office at (888) 409-3805
Damian Mallard, Esq.
Connect with me
Board Certified Sarasota Personal Injury Attorney